CFDS100 Review is cfds 100 a Scam or Reliable Broker

Best Binary Options Brokers 2020:
  • BINARIUM
    BINARIUM

    Best Options Broker 2020!
    Great Choice For Beginners!
    Free Trading Education!
    Free Demo Account 1000$!
    Get Your Sign-Up Bonus Now!

  • BINOMO
    BINOMO

    Only For Experienced Traders!

Contents

CFDS100 Review: is cfds 100 a Scam or Reliable Broker?

FXCM is a very big Forex broker with plenty of thousand traders and with a high trafficked website. But you don’t hear only good things about FXCM. Quite the reverse: You hear a lot of bad things. Of course there are complaints about any (!) Forex broker but in the case of FXCM it does not look very good. We collected the trader opinions and experiences for you that you can judge whether FXCM is a scam or not.

One of the most common complaints is that everything works smoothly with FXCM as long as you lose. But if you’re trading profitably the story begins. They close positions or even your account for no real reasons. This is the most common way for a broker to cheat on its traders. Closing your trades is not possible for the following reasons: “Data not found”, “Waiting for Dealer”, “Your order didn’t execute because price moved”.

There are also complaints about the bad costumer support. They seem not to act in the traders favor and sometimes don’t even care about costumer complaints.

Of course there are traders that are happy with FXCM but there are not many of them. There was also a law suite against FXCM a few years ago.

Although it seems that there was no result that does not mean that FXCM is reliable. The complaints are very serious. Also it seems that there are differences between hourly and daily charts which is pretty strange. It seems that short term charts look different to “help” traders making the wrong decision.

Traders also talk about margin calls that should not be executed.

If you take a look at the websites of the NFA you can see that FXCM already had to pay a serious fine. You can read more about it here.

You can’t really prove that FXCM is a scam but you can say that there are a lot of strange things going on and it is not a reliable Forex broker at all.

Experiences with FXCM

Let’s take a look at other traders experiences with FXCM.

I opened a position and placed a stop loss. I left my PC afterwards for half an hour. After coming back the stop loss was executed although the chart did not even touch my stop loss. I tried to talk to their costumer support and they said that I closed the position myself a few minutes after openening it. Another employee told me to take a look at it but he never came back to me.

They changed my stop loss without any action from my part.

FXCM is a good and reliable broker. I’m trading every day and I’m earning every day.

Best Binary Options Brokers 2020:
  • BINARIUM
    BINARIUM

    Best Options Broker 2020!
    Great Choice For Beginners!
    Free Trading Education!
    Free Demo Account 1000$!
    Get Your Sign-Up Bonus Now!

  • BINOMO
    BINOMO

    Only For Experienced Traders!

My experiences with FXCM are good so far.

I can’t recommend FXCM. Rollover fees are way too high. You can’t execute a trade all the time when it does not work in the broker’s favor.

FXCM is a solid broker with a good platform.

ForexScams.org Recommends:

#1: www.plus500.com – Millions of traders use this reliable and simple platform. Get your free demo account. Your capital is at risk.
#2: www.avatrade.com – Reliable FX Broker with EU-offices and very high safety of funds.

The Alternative – Social Trading:

#1: www.etoro.com – the world’s leading social investment network. Just copy successful traders with a click of a button and profit. Risk warning: 62% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with eToro.

72 opinions and experiences

Hi, the same thing is happening to me. i was not losing money so they locked my account it has been under review for 4 months now, if your account is put under review consider it closed.

If you have a choice do not use this broker they do not play by the rules

this is a scammer.. i had four positions opened and when i checked in the morning, two positions were closed redcing my capital to -90%

This fxcm is a criminal band,

i too had bad thoughts about this company. if you successfully win small they’ll leave u alone but if u trade big they seem to work against you with massive open/close price. the volatility is just unlikely. place $1000 and withdrawing $270 to fxpro.
the fact that they’re trading against they own customer base just show how underhand they are. why would any successful company want to watch their own customer fall?

please guys wisen up and leave them. and to mr Niv who pretends like hes the innocent honcho, watch bashar alassad. leaders who eat and kick on their own kind always end badly. would i recommend this shady firm? HELL NO.

i was looking into this forex broker but all this coments got me really thinking . well in this case any forex that you guys work and is real please let me know

Im also.looking for legitimate platform

I don’t really support FXCM, but it seems that you’re trading without any understanding of how things work, which will make your fall whatever broker you use.

FXCM has FX in its name, implying lots of CFD trading. CFD is a bet against the broker. ANY CFD TRADING is a trade against the broker. So yeah, if you’re a CFD broker there’s pretty much a lot to win from having your customers slowly lose because what they lose is FXCM earnings (I mean, other than the spreads who already make a ton of money together, they usually make more money on your cumulated spreads than you’ll ever make with your same trades)

It is a fake broker and full of scams who takes customers money by creating artificial volatility on their platform. I lost 55k in two days, they just took my money, although I made complaint with evidences however, it was the same answer from their audit department. When you need to deposit money to maintain your margin, you find that their system doesn’t work or even though you were successful after several tries but you may find that the amount was not added in to your account or equity. Often they create artificial votality on thier platform to put customers money in to risk, i mean they put you in margin calls. No way that you can make any money from FXCM , moreover you will lose your total capital. When they close the trading on friday at 9;55pm UK time afte then they continue another 5 minutes to reduce your margin and equity (in this 5 minutes you have no access to your opening positions but you can observe what and how they do dodgy thing).
I think customers who are serious about making profit or already made profit, ofthen they targeted those customers and put them in troubles in future tading so that customers never wins…

I think if we all come together and complaint to FCA directly that might work and we may able to prevent thousands of innocent traders from their scams.

Hi all! Do you recommend this broker?

how you soing britney. have you find any broker yet? im looking for one i was just wondering if you already find a real one?

I have compared FX spreads quoted by Plus500 (website) with FXCM (platform) at the same time and see that the spreads on Plus500 seem rather wide. Plus500 is definitely not for me. I have found spreads on FXCM remain variable, but narrower than competitors and do not increase once profits are made. I have withdrawn thousands of pounds from my FXCM account and have had no problems.

i agree.fxcm has made mistakes in the past but is transparent now with excellent leadership and i predict they will become the champion of old again.i think many complainers dont know enough about trading the markets at all.

FXCM may give a better deal than similar platforms for some FX trades. For example, I left some long positions on AUD/USD open on FXCM and my account received some small overnight financing CREDITS. In contrast, my account was DEBITED somewhat larger amounts by CMC Markets for AUD/USD long financing. The various platforms do not have comparable pricing structures and I find the best outcome is achieved by using one platform for, say, index futures and another for, say, FX pairs. There are differences between providers that are difficult to compare unless accounts are opened. I note some providers list their overnight financing per instrument in a readily accessible table, whereas others provide the information primarily in the transaction record after the event. Perhaps this has its origins in different standards prevailing across territories.

FXCM Australia is operating like a casino! they have openly admitted to trading against its retail customers so if i went buy they would go sell for the same contract size.

“You are betting against FXCM not the market”

FXCM founder Drew Niv has openly said he would be surprised if 15% of the customers make money the system to designed to lose , We don’t like your trading strategy and they make there own rules.

They also have the ability to change the equity margin at any time to favor themselves for profitability!! and have pre-market information.

FXCM Australia have removed the payment gateway system so you cant TOP up your accounts with a credit card to avoid a margin call at any time. payments can be done via Bpay so wouyldtake up to 72 hours to hit your account also as per discretion by FXCM they make the rules.

FXCM Australia is flying under the radar and has been reported to ASIC , ACCC , Financial Ombudsman for defrauding its retail customers and breach of TPA in Australia.

I have been using FXCM Trading Station (UK) for 2 years come November. I withdraw up to £1,000 per month and providing I am using BACS, my cheque account is credited often the next working day, or the day after at the latest. Card refunds take a long time, since the funds are removed only after a couple of days and take a long time to reach the bank. I can see no satisfactory reason for this. However, I have never had a problem with withdrawing funds, except for the wait.
Spreads are perhaps not that good and rollover seems high. However, I avoid trading instruments with excessive rollover charges. If I want to keep a long position open and a future is available on, say, City Index, I will use that in preference to FXCM.
I feel some of the comments on this website are not comparable to my experience with FXCM, but there may be variations between countries.
This website feel rather like an advert for Plus500, but I will take a look.

FXCM is absolutely reliable forex partner. I’m trading with them over a Year and have no problem at all. Withdrawal is as easy as deposit funds. I withrawed my wins I withdrawed my funds I deposited when needed etc. I have no any problem at all. I read complains and do not have any ideas about what they talk about. Is it some type of gossip or some rivalry. FXCM is reliable. Completely. No doubt. Even with my poor english.

Hi Peeter,
Please can you give a guide on how to get started.
Thanks

I opened a trading account with FXCM, made a deposit of $ 1800 and then made a profit of approximately $ 2,700. After that I ordered the withdrawal of the principal capital ($ 1800) and the withdrawal was successful.
Then I asked to withdraw the profits of ($ 2715) and the amount was deducted from my trading account with notification that the transfer needs 3 to 5 working days to reach my bank account, but on the fourth day on 03/07/2020 the amount was returned to the trading account.
After that I was notified through email that your trading account has been temporarily suspended, and to this day the account is suspended and I can not trade or withdraw money, and whenever i communicate with them, they tell me that your account is under review.
They have been reviewing my account for more than a month without any updates, and I need to withdraw my money but they are preventing me from doing so under the pretext of reviewing the account.
(account no: 96053170 / name: EISA ALMASRY / broker: FXCM.COM)
Attachment: Account statement from the beginning to the day

Hi, have you received your money since then?

hey did they already fix your issue ??

Real company with good platform, but they don’t care about you, beside they can create problem for you even if you have enough money for your floating position. They can lock your account, you will not able to trade until they solve problem what they create, you will lose more money. Disorganised company who really don’t know about what’s going on. They lost my id few times, it is ready crime. I am talking about Canadian branch FXCM Friedberg Mercantile Group Ltd. Thing before, do better research before trade with them.

Thanks to Alfredwood …..i can’t believe that i would be able to make money online with first experience in binary trade with $500 invested on it,on till i experience my first withdrawal of $7200 profit paid directly to my account through a honest man who was recommended to me,now am a full time binary investor with him

Can you give me more info?

you are a SCAMMER. Pathetic you should be ashamed of yourself

No one is even going to jail, nothing is happening worth while, except them being shut down in USA, they still have operations all over the world! Do you think they will not do the same in other countries where they are? 7 million fine from CFTC, not even NFA because they had someone in their pocket there. This is the fucking injustice in our society. You steal $20 from a store, or you take that $20 from a person, you go to jail, and for a month if you cant pay the ticket. Hey, but if you try to defraud your customers and steal from them, and set up situations where you (the customer) should loose money by purposely by their own doing, its ok no big deal right! If you try to hide 77 million dollars from the government, then they will just shut you down, and you can open another place, don’t worry! On top of this, they made lawless action to try to defraud their customers, and its OK. But if someone walked into their offices and took a computer from their desk, you better believe your going to jail!

This system of ours is shit, it will not survive! Everything is done with injustices, and our system created to deal with these injustices. Just more and more government! We are letting go of our selves to let others do better for us, when in reality all they want to do is fuck you and take everything that you have! WTF is going on! I came to America to run away from all this shit, by the way, i came here as a baby @ 2 years old, I am now 40 years old (just little background) but in reality where is the justice. What, the shutting down of FXCM that,s justice! Oh wait the CFTC got 7 million out of it for them selves, that’s probably justice!

Did the same, I tried different brokers that seems legit and trustworthy in the eyes, but, many broker are yes of course LEGIT, but how much are they LEGIT? not all,, I found one, its the best that I found, some downsides are manageable, but as of money or capital loss, there is none, I do the Math by calculators and it matched to the Statements of your account, you can always request whenever you want, not another downside is the spreads are not as tight as the others, but, for a broker to operate efficiently, you must provide them also from what you are trading, in exchange also for — the security, stability , efficiency of the broker,, you found one with tighter spread, you think you gained, haha, but goodluck with those buggy, technical error, stop loss.

MARCH 2020, dollar is strong, gold is weak and other currencies, fed hike coming, BREXIT. massive selling

I am currently with FXCM. I have been making losses often enough that i had to remove my stop loss because those stop losses are like 50 pips away and when it touches, automatically the trades goes the other way. I was thinking, wow this thing just came to take my stop loss and continues the other way. So i refuse to use a stop loss.

I have had some profits but small. According to many friends i have who have an account with FXCM, withdrawing amounts larger the $1000 is like taking forever so i was inform to withdraw small amounts of $200 to $400 as this is small.

Anyone going for scalping will be at a serious disadvantages because of the spreads. My trades normally are very small at about $0.10 to $0.30 per pip. I wouldnt go beyond than that because at these sort of trades, i would say it will be under Market Maker, not direct.

A lot of my friends do get scam by FXCM however FXCM do have large accounts from companies and thats where they make their big commissions. Retail traders like us is a pocket change for them. Losing traders like us is not important.

The most i can make in a month to stay under the radar is about $200 based on my $100 account. Previous my account size was $2,000 but its just so easy to lose money. Sometimes i get the impression that we are trading against a programmed computer where each traders see difference in their charts. Anyhow moving to other brokers soon. PS. I am doing this for full time

Thank you for this serious review. But i have heard an information about FXCM problems with USA regulators. How will it influence on costumers? Is it possible to save your account and money in case of? For example its possible to transfer your account to FxPro. I dont know mechanics of it. Maybe you know the truth?

Oh thank you for the awareness yesterday I was in their presentation for the first time in sandton I will no longer join

I don’t have a problem with FXCM. I think they are alright. Everybody in this forum seems to get a little finicky about a couple of losses here and there. Nobody’s perfect.

What I am interested to know is whether FXCM is allowing their “liquidity providers” to cancel orders AFTER said liquidity providers have been matched with a retail client. This means that retail trader sends an order, liquidity provider who has already put out a trade is matched and the order is routed, the liquidity provider is allowed to cancel the trade even after being chosen to be the counterparty. To be clear, with a central exchange, or in my opinion “fair” decentralized exchange facilitation business, both parties take a RISK of putting out an order, not just one side. If you are in the queue, and someone wants to hit/take your order – you are not asked again when you want to accept the trade. It seems that with fxcm their retail clients have to “put up or shut up” but their liquidity providers are able to cancel trades as “last look”. I am not making accusations, but am interested to know – and interested to know if this could affect stop order fill prices during market events due to the cycle / latency which you occur when being passed around.

Last Look is usually an advantage banks get when they are the LP. That is why LPs like Citi give FXCM good rates. But the last look that they get is not used so often in the institutional environment, and it is extremely rare for them to do it to a retail client since the volume is that much lower. The only broker who won’t allow last look are market makers, and there you have issues with requotes. Most likely there wasn’t enough liquidity to fill orders which caused people to think FXCM was manipulating prices.

Hi, just want to ask if you have more reliable forex broker that is recommendable?

Hello ken, you can email me for that at [email protected]

ha ha ha, how about now, do you have a problem with FXCM now!

I think not ha, you still think they are the greatest

They are crooks!

They make thier own rules. The margins/spreads are fixed to suit them and they change in a moments eyeblink. The buy sell link buttons are rigged to change volitility just by crossing the mouse over the sell/buy button. I watched a trade go from 25 to 19 just because I moved the mouse over the sell button. It is rigged. The indexes are not in line with any other trading platform. Now I am being told it will take me up to a month to get my money back!

Thanks for your orientation. I would like to know ¿how much did you lose?

They are crooks Kristy! But it is not a scam. They openly admit to it on their website if you take the time to read their documentation.
They say that with small accounts they will work against you, they offer different prices to different people, they take the other side of ALL trades. And finally they admit that their interests are in direct conflict to the clients. They say that if you make any money they will move your account to a NDD account.

All of this is on their website.

I’ve been using FXCM just on demo account. When i try to trade AUDCAD on low volume 0.01 the buttons don’t work unless i increase the volume to 1.0

Their support admitted it’s nothing to do with my equity etc and told me it’s a bug with my demo account, so i opened another account and still having the same problem.

Not sure which broker is reliable enough to test a strategy on

I have been trading professionally for 30 years, 26 with a major bank and the last 3 with FXCM. I have closed my account because the platform and technology is not reliable AT ALL. My personal and professional opinion is to avoid this broker. If you live outside the US, I like SaxoBank and inside the states, Interactive Broker. Both are tops in the field with great service and technology. I have even gone so far as to notify both the NFA and CFTC about FXCM’s false advertising about their technology.

Hope this helps.

I open whit fxcm not a big money , but he stolen a pip (commision), volatity , is a big scammer , i m a novice , but look a techniq analysed , he was a big and great scam , don t go do fxcm

People just trade directly with the exchanges and not the FXCM or other brokers they are all scammers

Hello Simon who i do that?

yeah Simon i fully agree with you ,FXCM is not a reliable broker ,i wouldn’t recommend it for someone , #scam…i placed a position with 15 pips stop loss it didn’t even reach there but i woke up with 28.1 loss (according to them it hit the stop loss). So people please ,try another brokers that are reliable because fxcm is NOT.

FXCM IS A PURE RIP OFF

I opened an account last year to trade equity indices (mainly CAC40 and DAX)
In few words here is what happened:

– The sales guy was very aggressive. Once the account was opened he replied to my emails very late.

– Many times I sent emails to help desk for help and they answered very late

– THE WORST –> I placed some orders with stoploss levels the day before opening (when the market is closed you cant place anything with fxcm). for example if I was short and the index was down on opening, the equivalent fxcm index was going up on opening so that it hit my stop loss and cancel my position. I should have made money but instead I lost. this is totally true story.

I sent many emails with BBG screenshots showing differences and they were not able to answer me properly (the only thing they said is that volatility can go both ways…)

It drove me made. Basically you are just trading on biased prices.

Last fall I was swamped with work and neglected my trading with FXCM. I missed a deadline for keeping my account open, in December last year.

My attempts to get in touch with FXCM customer support in reopening my account – that has outstanding funds! – has resulted in ZERO response. For all intents, my deposit with FCXM has now been confiscated.

Having alot of issues with fxcm most notably stop losses and buy sell stops being activated before they even get touched. i’ve suffered alot of losses because of this. sent in a screenshot yesterday of the latest fxcm theft when a stop loss was triggered 10 pips away and let me say it wasn’t the first time i’ve had stop losses taken out even though the market wasn’t even close. there is no consistency in it either. other losses include buy stops getting triggered but market never reaching that mark. spreads are outrageously high at 2 pips+

i have traded with fxcm for 5 years,no problems. when i did have a problem on a trade that filled incorrectly and i had the proof,screenshots ect,they promptly funded back the discrepancy.

This is the letter I receive from FXCM Compliance Department after I was provide with misleading information by two of their incompetent associates (Jason Matos And Rodrigo Regi), who intentionally gave us the wrong Information.
Information that was then used not only to block and close all of our accounts with FXCM, but also to hold our funds indefinitely.
All we ask was the way for me to trade on my friend account without having any problems.
My new Broker advise me the way to do it is to open a “Join Account” which covers the legality of all parties involved, and any separate agreement between the “Join Members” is totally up to them and not of anyone’s business….In my book this is a Broker that knows how to do business and treat their clients.
I did ask about this option “Join Account” to Rodrigo Regi, and I was very surprise because he simply couldn’t give me a straight answer…..And that’s a Manager!…Just Imagine.

Dear Juan Ramirez,

Thank you for your continued interest in Forex Capital Markets (“FXCM”). As outlined in the Client Agreement (“Agreement”), FXCM reserves the right to terminate the Agreement for any reason it deems necessary.

FXCM frequently reviews its client account database and after a thorough review of your account, we regret to inform you that we will be unable to maintain an account with you at this time. Termination decisions are not intended to be personal in any way.

We will be initiating a full balance withdraw to be returned to the originating source. Thank you.

FXCM Compliance
FXCM
55 Water Street, 50th Floor
New York, NY 10041
[email protected]

MY RESPOND TO FXCM

To: Compliance Dept.

Thank you for your respond, I appreciate the fact that you will initiate the balance withdraw to be returned to the original source.

Referring to the first paragraph let me tell you that you are totally wrong, I do not intend or have any continued Interest whatsoever in Forex Capital Markets,or the (Agreement).

I also do understand that FXCM reserves the right to terminate any (Agreement) or account. What It’s inconceivable is the incompetent action of Jason Matos, and Rodrigo Regi, to waste my valuable time by providing the wrong information, All they had to do was to tell me from the very beginning that what we intend to do, was simply not possible.

Please don’t regret or feel bad to inform that I am unable to maintain an account with FXCM, since I can be more pleased by the decision, not only for wasting my time and treat me like a liar, but also because my new broker advise me of the financial trouble your company is going thru, information that I have confirmed. Not to mention the amount of unsatisfied customers and complaints I found on the internet after my research.

Again I appreciate the fact you are initiating a full balance withdraw to be returned to the originating source, hopefully this can be done as soon as possible since I would like to be done and over with FXCM.

Best Regards
Juan Ramirez

I haven’t receive my funds as of yet, and it’s being almost two weeks.

SPECIAL THANKS FOR ALL THESE COMMENTS. I WILL CLOSE MY ACCOUNT WITH FXCM VERY SOON AFTER I FINISH MY WORK.

FXCM PICK POCKETS UNSUSPECTING RETAIL TRADERS ACCOUNT

FXCM closed my position with losses (wrongfully took my money out of my account) & refuses to refund my money. At the time of wrongful liquidation by FXCM which resulted in $61.78 losses in my account on 10/2/15 9:01 am i had a open position of 27 lots of USD/CAD 27×200=$540. Before, during & after wrongful liquidation, my available margin funds were more than sufficient & not below $581.69 in my trading account. Please see below the attached daily combined account statement. while i had more then enough funds to hold my position. My account was wrongfully liquidated when i was monitoring my position , everything happened in front of me. I immediately contacted FXCM within a few minutes of the wrongful liquidation for refund of my losses & shortly after I contacted them, fxcm DEALING DESK TRADER Michael Ohneck denied refunding my money .

THERE HASNT BEEN ANY PROOF NOR ANY DOCUMENTATION SHOWN TO SUBSTANTIATE FXCM DENIAL OF WRONGFUL LIQUIDATION – STATEMENT BELOW IS THE ONLY THING I RECEIVED FROM FXCM after this denial by Dealing Desk Trader Michael Ohneck, i escalated the case to compliance department & only thing i received from Compliance Department so far in 23 days was the acknowledgement email nothing else .

Please read below for my complete documentations, proofs & correspondences .

FXCM Audit Complete – Case Number 00381322
from: Michael Ohneck
to: xxxxxxxxxxxxx
date: Fri, Oct 2, 2020 at 12:36 PM
subject: FXCM Audit Complete – Case Number 00381322

Thank you for contacting us. FXCM’s trade audit team has completed the review of your complaint fully and the details of the matter are as follows:Margin Call at: 10/2/15 1:01 PM

( he sends an email to me at 12:36 pm on 10/2/15 about liquidation time of 1:01 pm on 10/2/15 which hadnt even occured yet. The truth is wrongful liquidation happened at 9:01 am not at 1:01 pm See below my account statement for detail transaction history)

Margin Requirement: $540.00
Equity Post Margin Call: $539.90
Balance Post Margin Call: $581.69
Tickets Included in Liquidation: 19311607

(above numbers that DEALING DESK TRADER Michael Ohneck is talking about are belong to NZD/USD position that was opened at 9:19 am AFTER fxcm’s wrongfully liquidated USD/CAD position at 9:01 am on 10/2/15 See below account statement for detail transaction history)

Due to the fact that this margin call executed correctly, no adjustment is warranted in this case.

Michael Ohneck
Trade Services Representative

* ANYONE WHO READS THIS SITE !
DON’T BELIEVE A WORD THIS “JASON ROGERS” PERSON IS SAYING,HOW COME HE NEVER SHOWS ANY PROOF FOR HIS DENIALS .
INSTEAD OF HIM INSTANTLY DENYING ALL OF THE RETAIL TRADERS STATEMENTS ABOUT EVERY HORRIFIC EXPERIENCES RESULTED WITH SUFFERING HUGE LOSSES (financially, intellectually, emotionally ect.) DUE TO “PUBLICLY TRADED FX BUCKETSHOP” OPERATIONS OF FXCM,
” JASON ROGERS” MUST PROVE ALL OF HIS DENIALS BACKED BY ACCOUNT STATEMENTS , TRANSFER OF FUNDS TO THE OUTSIDE COUNTER PARTIES(since he claims FXCM doesnt benefit from retail traders loss of funds) ECT.

FXCM COMPLIANCE DEPARTMENT ONLY COMPLYS STRICTLY WITH BUCKETSHOP RULES & REGULATIONS.
” Copper your customers & grow rich” Reminiscence of a Stock Broker Jessi L. Livermore(Edvin Lefevre)

The FXCM Compliance Department is in receipt of the complaint you recently submitted.

We understand your disappointment with respect to the matter you have brought to our attention. Please be advised that FXCM takes these matters very seriously. We have initiated an internal investigation of this matter and we will contact you upon conclusion of our audit.

If you have any further questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact FXCM’s Compliance Department at [email protected]

Kindest Regards,
Alexandra Goldstein
***************************************************************************************
Oct, 7th 2020
Reply By TraderFX
hi,Since, it began on 10/02/15. When will it be completed?All the information you need are in my earlier emails & my account statement, that i forwarded to other employees. Basically its my trading account statement from 10/02/2020. it simply shows everything down to the pennies & time of wrongful liquidation.i hope to receive a factual reply from you.Sincerely,

Oct, 9th 2020
Reply By TraderFX
Hi,it has been 7 since the wrongful liquidation by FXCM & you havent refunded my account. WHAT IS THE HOLD UP . You should have had your proofs by now in 7 day, showing that wrongful liquidation was my fault.

Oct, 9th 2020
Reply By TraderFX
FXCM HAS BEEN WRONGFULLY HOLDING MY FUNDS FOR 7 DAY & MY MONEY HAS TO BE PUT BACK INTO MY ACCOUNT ASAP!
Oct, 12th 2020
Reply By TraderFX
Hello,It has been 10 days since my Usd/Cad position was wrongfully liquidated at 9:01 am on 10/02/15 with $61.75 while i had sufficient funds to hold my position.I had forwarded FXCM my proof immediately after the wrongful liquidation by FXCM.I will wait until the end of the business day tomorrow 10/13/15 as a courtesy, if i dont hear from FXCM by then , as my next step, i will file complaints with CFTC, FSA, FINRA. I will forward them my proofs, communications with all of the FXCM Employees about this matter & your immediate denial email.
After i file complaint with Regulators, i will also post all of the issue on the various websites for victimized Traders & Where prospect new traders acquire knowledge about the Operational Style of various FX Brokers for them to judge FXCM’s dealings against retail traders, before they deposit any of their hard earned money with FXCM.
i am requesting my funds to be returned to my account where they belong immediately, since FXCM has been holding my funds wrongfully for a long time.

FXCM HAD AMPLE AMOUNT OF TIME SINCE 10/02/15 TO SEND ME THEIR PROOFS SHOWING HARD FACTS & DOCUMENTATION , 10 DAYS HAVE PASSED I HAVENT RECEIVED ANY PROOF CLEARLY SHOWING WHY WAS MY USD/CAD POSITION WAS LIQUIDATED & WHY FXCM IS WITHOLDING MY FUNDS SINCE 9:01 AM ON 10/02/15. IT ONLY TAKES MINUTES TO PROVE MONEY MATTERS, JUST AS I HAD DONE IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE WRONGFUL LIQUIDATION, I FORWARDED FXCM DETAILS OF MY ACCOUNT STATEMENT CLEARLY HIGHLIGHTED THE TIMES OF LIQUIDATION, AVAILABLE FUNDS ECT.
This is my final attempt resolve the matter directly with FXCM. i had send 4 other emails within last 10 days without a solution.
Sincerely,

THIS IS WHAT & HOW EXACTLY THE WRONGFUL LIQUIDATION & INSTANT DENIAL OCCURRED BY FXCM

OPEN/FLOATING POSITIONS
Ticket # Symbol Volume Date Sold Bought Floating P/L Comm Dividends Rollover Net P/L Condition Created By
19315122 NZD/USD 30,000 10/2/15 9:29 AM 0.64140 -45.00 -1.80 0.00 0.00 -46.80 Mkt 77027927
10/2/15 10:08 AM 0.64290
19316453 NZD/USD 5,000 10/2/15 10:01 AM 0.64192 -4.90 -0.30 0.00 0.00 -5.20 Mkt 77027927
10/2/15 10:08 AM 0.64290
Total: -49.90 -2.10 0.00 0.00 -52.00 THIS IS WHAT THEY ARE LYING ABOUT(this NZD/USD possition is their proof for USD/CAD position. ) THAT BELONGS TO NZD/USD POSITION WHICH WAS OPENEND AT 9:29 AM AFTER THE WRONGFULL LIQUIDATION OF USD/CAD THAT WAS WRONGFULLY LIQUIDATED BY FXCM AT 9:01 AM ON 10/2/15 please read the denial email from DEALING DESK TRADER Michael Ohneck

FXCM Audit Complete – Case Number 00381322
fxcm
from: Michael Ohneck
to: xxxxxxxxxxxxx
date: Fri, Oct 2, 2020 at 12:36 PM
subject: FXCM Audit Complete – Case Number 00381322

Thank you for contacting us. FXCM’s trade audit team has completed the review of your complaint fully and the details of the matter are as follows:Margin Call at: 10/2/15 1:01 PM

Margin Requirement: $540.00
Equity Post Margin Call: $539.90
Balance Post Margin Call: $581.69
Tickets Included in Liquidation: 19311607

Margin calls are triggered when your usable margin reaches zero. This occurs when your floating losses reduce your account equity(not balance) to a level that is less than or equal to your margin requirement. During the margin call in question your account balance was $581.69. Your account balance does not reflect floating losses, at the time of your margin call you had floating losses of $41.79. This floating losses reduced your equity to $539.90, which is less than your margin call.

The result of any margin call is subsequent liquidation unless otherwise specified. When a margin call is triggered on the account individual positions will be liquidated until the remaining equity is sufficient to support existing position(s). In deciding what positions will be individually liquidated the largest loosing position will be closed first during liquidation. This process is entirely electronic.

The idea of margin trading is that your margin acts as a good faith deposit to secure the larger notional value of your position. Margin trading allows traders to hold a position much larger than the actual account value. FXCM’s Trading platform has margin management capabilities, which allow for the use of leverage. Of course, trading on margin comes with risk as leverage may work against you as much as it works for you.

Due to the fact that this margin call executed correctly, no adjustment is warranted in this case.

Per FXCM’s complaint procedure, if you are dissatisfied with the explanation above, you have the option to escalate this matter to our Trade Audit Appeals Board. You may issue your complaint in writing to http://www.fxcm.com/compliance-form.jsp

Once again, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused and hope you will find that the points above offer a fair resolution.
Best regards,
Michael Ohneck

I am doing simulations right now with my winning model with FXCM data and the yield is very poor : first of all prices differ a lot from other brokers, and volatility is higher. btw I am looking for a trustworthy hedge fund to buy my system (20%-50% yield/year depending on the broker of course) – I am gonna publish my trading results on my blog.

Was considering opening an acct. The rep said they were STP broker and never traded against their clients. After reading the fine print this is one of many emails sent back and forth, him saying one thing and the FXCM documents saying the complete contrary. Every one has to do their own research and READ ALL the FINE PRINT!

Dear sir,
Sorry, what you are telling me verbally means nothing according to FXCM documentation and actually contradictions these very same documents? If FXCM and you say they are not a NDD broker they had better update their documents because they say they are. There is a huge lack of honesty here and the trading public is getting taken to the cleaners.

The regulations you speak of have nothing to do with how you handle orders or the contradictions in your statements or the FCXM documents themselves. All I have to do is sign them and open an account and you can do what you claim you don’t, but your document say you can and will at your discretion. How can you claim to be a trustworthy and honest broker with this kind of confusion and lack of transparency for your potential and current clients?

I would like to do business with you, but if your statements don’t jive with your documents I would be a fool to give you my money.

You also failed to answer several of my questions.

I’m really not a bastard. I just want a fair opportunity to work with an honest broker that truly takes only spread or other fair commissions and clearly outlines this in their documentation. FXCM doesn’t!

If you like refer me to Mr. Niv and I will personally explain to him my beliefs about his flawed business model and how he is just like all the other Wall Street participants and cares only about lining his own pockets.

Thank you for your time.

Yes…..I Was ” Knocked Out” of many Trades….That i Had Stops and Limits On…..And The Straw That Broke The Camels Back was When It Knocked Me Out And Moved Liked Lightning Against Me For $5000 In Less Than A Minute …While I wasn’t Looking!….Because I Had My Trade in The Hour…… This is All Demo Account….But I Know What I’m Doing……And FXCM Conveniently makes Sure….
In ” The Report”…..There Is No record Of ENTRY, STOP, And LIMIT…..It Just Tells You…..
When ” THEY SAY ” You Bought and Sold….Need I Say More….Must Check Out other Stations….Steve

Undoubtedly scam. I`ve traded (tried to) with FXCM for about two years. Soon after you make some profit you`ll notice yours stop-losses being crossed by one, two pips – price never reached same levels compare with charts from another broker.
I`ve made some print-screens after my “unlucky” trades and compare with current charts – the size of candels, price levels are literally different (same broker, same platform so obviously charts has been altered over the time).

Avoid them at all cost!!

This is to inform many of you who have attempted Forex trading with a system through your favourite choice of brokers out there on the market. Many of them are scams they are not your friends sadly. They are their to take your hard earned money and make you suffer for it, your loss is their gain.

My experience with FXCM has been terrible, I started my $50K demo account and turned it into $70K in the period of 4 months. So then I made a transition into a live account with $2k, first 2 trades went greet I doubled my money and made a grand total of $4k in 2 weeks.

Third week into trading I noticed my PC was hacked mysterious by some anonymous person. This is when things went downhill for me and lost all my money in the live account from placing trades that I kept loosing every time after being hacked.

Furthermore their so called specialized in house trades who run webinars provide misleading information to their clients when to buy and sell. FXCM business does not operate ethical and moral to their clients, they are in it for themselves.

I here them all the time say we wished all our clients were millionaires from trading with us so we can make more commission of them. Sounds to me a bit like the movie “Wolf of Wall Street”.

All I can say with many brokers out their, the day you start a live account you become a main target to be taken down. The vulnerable become the weakest pray to feed on, I know one guy who lost everything over forex trading and now lives on the streets after losing his house, wife and 2 young children’s. Forex trading can really break peoples lives losing their money and their loved ones, in the end of the day is it worth it?

Best regards
Alex

You turned 2k into 4k in 2 weeks? I mean if you had half a brain you would understand this is not a healthy account growth and to earn such large amounts of money in such a short time from a small account requires a lot of risk, so I can only come to the conclusion you lost your money simply because you took to many risks.

eToro Review 2020

Summary

Recommended for traders interested in social trading (i.e. copying other investors’ trades)

eToro is a well-known Israeli fintech startup, a social trading broker established in 2007.

eToro serves UK clients through an entity regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), Australians through an Australian Securities and Investment Commission (ASIC) regulated entity. All other customers are served by a Cypriot entity that is regulated by the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC).

eToro is not listed on any stock exchange, does not disclose its annual report on its site and does not have a bank parent.

eToro is considered safe because its UK and Australian arms are regulated by top-tier financial authorities and it is a well-known fintech startup.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. 75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

We selected eToro as Best broker for cryptos and Best broker for social trading for 2020, based on an in-depth analysis of 57 online brokers that included testing their live accounts. Check out the complete list of winners.

eToro pros and cons

eToro offers commission-free stock and ETF trading in Europe and offers generally low fees for non-EU clients. Account opening is fast and seamless. It has innovative features like social trading, which lets you copy the strategies of other traders.

On the negative side, eToro’s forex fees are high and the withdrawal is slow with a $5 fee charged. Also, it only offers one account base currency.

Pros Cons
• Free stock and ETF trading in the EU • High forex fees
• Seamless account opening • Withdrawing money is slow and expensive
• Social trading experience • Only one account base currency
eToro main features and highlights
��️ Country of regulation UK, Cyprus, Australia
�� Trading fees class Low
�� Inactivity fee charged Yes
�� Withdrawal fee amount $5
�� Minimum deposit $200
�� Time to open an account 1 day
�� Deposit with credit card Available
�� Depositing with electronic wallet Available
�� Number of base currencies supported 1
�� Demo account provided Yes
��️ Products offered Stock, ETF, Forex, CFD, Crypto

Gergely Korpos

Author of this review

Everything you find on BrokerChooser is based on reliable data and unbiased information. We combine our 10+ years finance experience with readers feedback. Read more about our methodology

eToro review
Fees

eToro offers free stock trading in Europe and has low CFD fees. On the negative side, forex trading fees are high and there is a fee charged for inactivity or withdrawal.

Pros Cons
• Free stock and ETF trading in the EU • High non-trading fees
• Low CFD fees • High forex fees
• Withdrawal fee
eToro fees snapshot
Assets Fee level Fee terms
S&P 500 CFD Low The fees are built into spread, 0.75 is the average spread cost.
Europe 50 CFD Low The fees are built into spread, 3 is the average spread cost.
EURUSD High The fees are built into spread, 3 pips is the average spread cost.
Inactivity fee Low $10 per month after one year inactivity

How we ranked fees

We ranked eToro’s fee levels as low, average or high based on how they compare to those of all reviewed brokers.

To get things rolling, let’s go over some lingo related to broker fees. What you need to keep an eye on are trading fees and non-trading fees.

  • Trading fees occur when you trade. These can be commissions, spreads, financing rates and conversion fees.
  • Non-trading fees include charges not directly related to trading, like withdrawal fees or inactivity fees.

In the sections below, you will find the most relevant fees of eToro for each asset class. For example, in the case of forex and stock index trading spreads, commissions and financing rates are the most important fees.

We also compared eToro’s fees with those of two similar brokers we selected, Plus500 and MarketsX. This selection is based on objective factors such as products offered, client profile, fee structure, etc. See a more detailed rundown of eToro alternatives.

To have a clear overview of eToro, let’s start with the trading fees.

eToro trading fees

eToro trading fees are low.

We know it’s hard to compare trading fees for CFD brokers. So how did we approach the problem of making their fees clear and comparable? We compare brokers by calculating all the fees of a typical trade for selected products.

We have chosen popular instruments within each asset class:

  • Stock index CFDs: SPX and EUSTX50
  • Stock CFDs: Apple and Vodafone
  • Forex: EURUSD, GBPUSD, AUDUSD, EURCHF and EURGBP

A typical trade means buying a leveraged position, holding it for one week and then selling. For the volume, we chose a $2,000 position for the stock index and stock CFDs and $20,000 for the forex transactions. The leverage we used is:

  • 20:1 for stock index CFDs
  • 5:1 for stock CFDs
  • 30:1 for forex

These catch-all benchmark fees include spreads, commissions and financing costs for all brokers. Let’s see the verdict for eToro fees.

Stock fees and ETF fees

As a unique service on the market, eToro offers zero-commission stock and ETF trading for European clients. eToro, which is primarily a CFD broker, also lets you trade with real stocks and ETFs if you set the leverage to one. For non-EU clients, there is no zero-commission trading, but eToro charges low fees, i.e. the spread (the difference between the ask and the bid prices) is low. If you set the leverage higher than one, you will be trading with CFDs.

Stock and ETF commission of a $2,000 trade

eToro IG XTB
US stock $0.0 $15.0 $10.0
UK stock $0.0 $9.6 $10.0
German stock $0.0 $11.0 $8.8

CFD fees

eToro has generally low CFD trading fees. Compared to its closest competitors, its fees are roughly in the same range.

eToro CFD fees for a $2,000 long position held for one week

eToro Plus500 MarketsX
S&P 500 index CFD fee $2.4 $2.1 $2.6
Europe 50 index CFD fee $2.7 $1.3 $2.5
Apple CFD fee $6.3 $8.9 $6.4
Vodafone CFD fee $7.6 $6.7

Forex fees

eToro forex fees are high, although still lower than MarketsX’s.

eToro forex benchmark fees of a $20,000 30:1 long position held for one week

eToro Plus500 MarketsX
EURUSD benchmark fee $19.6 $17.9 $24.5
GBPUSD benchmark fee $16.2 $14.0 $25.0
AUDUSD benchmark fee $12.4 $12.6 $25.1
EURCHF benchmark fee $11.8 $9.0 $22.1
EURGBP benchmark fee $19.9 $14.6 $20.5

Non-trading fees

eToro has high non-trading fees, as it charges $10 per month after one year of inactivity, and its withdrawal fee is $5.

eToro non-trading fees

eToro Plus500 MarketsX
Account fee No No No
Inactivity fee Yes Yes Yes
Deposit fee $0 $0 $0
Withdrawal fee $25 $0 $0

eToro review
Account opening

Account opening at eToro is seamless and very fast.

Pros Cons
• Fast None
• Fully digital
• Low minimum deposit

Can you open an account?

Visit broker
75% of retail CFD accounts lose money

Most likely yes, as eToro serves almost every countries except for 36 (of which a big chunk are African countries).

What is the minimum deposit at eToro?

In most cases the required eToro minimum deposit is $200 . It is different for the following countries:

  • If you are from Israel, it is $10,000.
  • For residents of Australia and the USA, the minimum first-time deposit is $50.
  • For residents of Russia, China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and Macau, the minimum first-time deposit is $500.

Account types

eToro offers two very simple account types: there is a live account, as well as a demo (or virtual) account, where you can try out the platform with play money.

How to open your account

The account opening process is hassle-free and fully digital. In addition, it is also very fast, as we were able to open an account within one day.

You have to start by registering with your email account or with your Facebook or Google+ account. And that’s practically it, you can immediately access the trading platform and start to trade with a $100,000 demo account.

If you want to go further and fund it with real money, you have to verify your identity and residency by uploading the required documents:

  • Proof of identity: a copy of your passport or personal ID.
  • Proof of residency: a copy of a utility bill or bank statement.

eToro review
Deposit and withdrawal

Depositing money is free and easy, with a lot of available options, including credit cards. However, there is a withdrawal fee and only USD accounts are available.

Pros Cons
• Credit/Debit card available • Only one account base currency
• No deposit fee • $5 withdrawal fee
• User-friendly

Account base currencies

eToro only allows USD accounts, which means that your funding will be converted by eToro to USD. For example, if you deposit EUR, a 0.025% fee will be applied at funding and the same fee will also be charged when you withdraw EUR. Alternatively, you can deposit in USD, e.g. using your credit card. In that case, your bank will make the conversion at its own rate.

Base currencies at eToro vs similar brokers

eToro Plus500 MarketsX
Number of base currencies 1 10 9

Why does this matter? For two reasons. If you fund your account in the same currency as your bank account or you trade assets in the same currency as your account base currency, you don’t have to pay a conversion fee.

A convenient way to save on currency conversion fees is opening a multi-currency bank account at a digital bank. Revolut or Transferwise both offer bank accounts in several currencies with great currency exchange rates as well as free or cheap international bank transfers. Opening an account only takes a few minutes on your phone.

Deposit fees and options

eToro charges no deposit fees.

Similarly to other CFD brokers, there are a lot of depositing options:

  • Bank transfer
  • Credit/Debit card
  • PayPal
  • Skrill
  • Neteller
  • WebMoney
eToro deposit options
eToro Plus500 MarketsX
Bank transfer Yes Yes Yes
Credit/Debit card Yes Yes Yes
Electronic wallets Yes Yes Yes

A bank transfer takes 4-7 business days, and there is no maximum deposit. In comparison, while credit/debit card and electronic wallet deposits are instant, there are per transaction limits: $40,000 in the case of credit/debit cards, and either $10,000 or $20,000 in the case of electronic wallets.

You can only deposit money from funding sources that are in your name.

eToro withdrawal fees and options

eToro has a $5 withdrawal fee, which is high compared to other CFD brokers. In addition, eToro has a $50 minimum amount limit on withdrawals.

Withdrawal options are the same as the funding options: you can withdraw money using bank transfer, credit/debit card or electronic wallets, similar to other CFD brokers.

eToro withdrawal fees and options

eToro Plus500 MarketsX
Bank Transfer Yes Yes Yes
Credit/Debit card Yes Yes Yes
Electronic wallets Yes Yes Yes
Withdrawal fee $5 $0 $0

How long does it take to withdraw money from eToro?

We tested withdrawal by bank transfer, and it took 2 business days.

How do you withdraw money from eToro?

  1. Click on the ‘Withdraw Funds’ tab in the left-hand menu.
  2. Enter the amount you wish to withdraw (in USD).
  3. Complete the electronic withdrawal form as required.
  4. Click ‘Submit.’

You can only withdraw money to accounts in your name.

More funding and withdrawal info
75% of retail CFD accounts lose money

Want to stay in the loop?

Sign up and we’ll let you know when a new broker review is out.

eToro review
Web trading platform

eToro offers a user-friendly and well-designed web trading platform. In addition, social trading is also available. On the other hand, the customizability is limited.

Pros Cons
• User-friendly • Limited customizability (for charts, workspace)
• Clear fee report
• Two-step (safer) login
eToro platforms to choose from
Trading platform Score Available
Web 4.4 / 5 stars Yes
Mobile 4.9 / 5 stars Yes
Desktop No

eToro’s platform looks like a modern platform should in this day and age.

The web trading platform is available in many languages:

eToro platform languages

Arabic Chinese (simplified) Chinese (traditional) Czech Danish
Dutch English Finnish French German
Italian Malaysian Norwegian Polish Portuguese
Romanian Russian Spanish Swedish Vietnamese
Thai

Look and feel

eToro’s trading platform is a pleasure for the eye. With its clean design and great functions, eToro did a great job of combining good design with functionality. The menus and buttons are where you expect them to be, everything is labelled correctly and the color scheme is pleasant.

It is hard to customize though, as the panels are fixed. One exception is the watchlist, which is easy to configure.

Login and security

eToro has an optional, safer, two-step login system. This can make it more complicated to log in, but in turn it provides you with added security.

Search functions

The built-in search is predictive and easy to use. Type in a company or product name and you can see the results. Also, you can search easily via tickers.

Placing orders

Placing orders is self-explanatory.

You can use the following order types: market, limit, stop-loss, trailing stop-loss.

If you are not familiar with order types, read this overview.

Alerts and notifications

You can set price alerts and notifications easily. eToro’s alert function lets you know when an asset reaches a price target, and you also get a notification when your order is fulfilled. On the web platform, this is in the form of an icon update or a browser notification. On mobile, it is a push notification.

Portfolio and fee reports

You will surely want to know how your portfolio is performing and how much fees you have paid. You can decide how you want to see your portfolio reports: a list of your assets or a pie chart showing your current portfolio.

Finding the fee report is quite complicated at first. Click on the ‘Portfolio’ tab, then go to ‘History,’ and under the gear icon at the top right, you can access and download your account statement. This is a well-structured pdf file showing all of your cash flows, including fees. When you are following someone, you will see all trades separately. However, fees are not added up, but listed individually per fee deduction.

Visit web platform page
75% of retail CFD accounts lose money

eToro review
Mobile trading platform

eToro’s mobile platform is well-designed and intuitive. It is a pleasure to use.

Pros Cons
• User-friendly • No Touch/Face ID login
• Two-step (safer) login
• Good search function

The eToro mobile trading platform is available for iOS and Android. We tested it with iOS.

It’s available in the same 21 languages as the web trading platform.

The mobile platform has the same great functionality as the web platform. It uses mobile-specific intuitive functions, such as push notifications or good touch interactions. For example, you can swipe left and right in your portfolio to access charts or open a new trade.

Visit mobile platform page
75% of retail CFD accounts lose money

eToro review
Desktop trading platform

eToro does not offer a desktop trading platform.

Visit broker
75% of retail CFD accounts lose money

eToro review
Markets and products

At eToro you can trade with CFDs and forex, as well as real stocks, ETFs and many cryptocurrencies. In addition, the broker also offers innovative services like social trading and CopyPortfolio.

eToro is primarily a CFD and forex broker. However, you can also trade with real stocks, ETFs, and a lot of different cryptos. eToro also has some nifty features, such as social trading (Copy People) and CopyPortfolio.

So, let’s break down eToro’s markets and products.

All non-leveraged buy positions for equities, ETFs and cryptocurrencies are traded as real assets. This means that when you buy stocks, ETFs or cryptos without any leverage (i.e. leverage is set to one), you will buy real stocks, ETFs and cryptos, not CFDs.

All other positions are CFDs:

  • leveraged buy positions and all sell positions of stocks, ETFs and cryptos
  • all positions of forex, commodities and indices

Within CFDs, in addition to the traditional way of trading, you can

  • follow and copy other traders’ trading (this is Copy People, also called social trading), or
  • invest in a compiled CFD portfolio (this is CopyPortfolio).

To learn more about CFDs, read our CFD trading tips.

Disclaimer: CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. 75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

At eToro, you can trade with an average number of products. For example, there are fewer stock CFDs available than at Plus500, another CFD broker. The same can be said about currency pairs and commodities. On the other hand, eToro offers a wider range of stock and ETF CFDs than its closest competitors, and you can also trade with many of the most popular cryptocurrencies.

eToro Plus500 MarketsX
Currency pairs (#) 47 70 55
Stock index CFDs (#) 13 33 11
Stock CFDs (#) 1,900 1,800 2,000
ETF CFDs (#) 145 92 42
Commodity CFDs (#) 6 22 17
Bond CFDs (#) 4
Futures CFDs (#)
Cryptos (#) 17 14 5

You can change the default leverage level of the products.

Changing the leverage manually is a very useful feature when you want to lower the risk of a trade. For example, instead of trading with 5:1 leverage, only trade with 2:1 leverage in the case of stock CFDs. Be careful with forex and CFD trading, since the pre-set leverage levels are high.

CopyTrader

eToro has two distinctive innovations, both being great features, CopyTrader and CopyPortfolio.

CopyTrader is the so-called social trading feature. What is eToro really good at? Well, this is it! One by one you can copy the portfolio of traders who also trade with eToro. This can be quite useful. You can browse through the profiles of other eToro traders, checking their previous performance on an annual and a monthly level. Their portfolio is also public information. Additionally, eToro also applies a risk score to each trader. There are tons of more stats for each profile, like trades per week, average holding time, performance on charts, and you can also see their detailed profiles as well as their news feed comments. Imagine Facebook profiles, but with fewer inspirational and more market quotes.

The minimum amount you can invest in one trade is $200, while the maximum is $500,000. Furthermore, you can copy a maximum of 100 traders simultaneously.

There is one drawback of CopyTrader: you cannot close part of your position, only the full amount.

Disclaimer: Indicative prices; current market price is shown on the eToro trading platform. Past performance is not an indication of future results. The trading history presented is less than 5 years old and may not suffice as a basis for investment decisions. This post is not investment advice.

CopyPortfolio

CopyPortfolio is practically an investment fund, but under the hood it is a CFD portfolio. While with CopyTrader you were following one trader, with CopyPortfolio you can invest either in a theme or in a portfolio of top eToro traders.

  • Investing in themes means for example investing in a portfolio of big banks or cryptocurrencies. Practically, “Big Banks CopyPortfolio” consists of CFDs traded by the largest investment banks, such as Citi, Bank of America, HSBC or others.
  • The other way to invest via CopyPortfolio is to invest in a portfolio comprised of multiple “star” traders.
  • There is also a crypto CopyPortfolio available.

Disclaimer: Indicative prices; current market price is shown on the eToro trading platform. Past performance is not an indication of future results. The trading history presented is less than 5 years old and may not suffice as a basis for investment decisions. This post is not investment advice.

The proportion of CFDs in the specific CopyPortfolio is clearly indicated. You can check performance and asset distribution, and read the investment strategy. CopyPortfolios are built around a theme by eToro’s algorithms or by eToro external partners. This might all sound a bit complicated, but at the end of the day, this means you can invest easily in a quasi-fund. There is a minimum investment amount for CopyPortfolio, which is $5,000. eToro also checks your financial knowledge to determine whether CopyPortfolio is right for you.

Stocks and ETFs

If you buy non-leveraged stocks or ETFs, you are buying the real asset. Usually, this feature is not offered by other CFD and forex brokers. In that sense, eToro’s selection of 16 stock markets to access is great. However, compared to stockbrokers like Saxo Bank (

35 markets) or Interactive Brokers (

80), it is poor. There are also risks you should take into account when you choose stocks. Your capital is at risk.

eToro Plus500 MarketsX
Stock markets (#) 16
ETFs (#) 145

At eToro, you have access to the following 16 stock exchanges:

  • Amsterdam
  • NYSE
  • New York Tech
  • Euronext Brussels
  • Euronext Lisbon
  • Frankfurt
  • London
  • Paris
  • Madrid
  • Milan
  • Zurich
  • Oslo
  • Stockholm
  • Copenhagen
  • Helsinki
  • Hong Kong

Cryptocurrency

Cryptocurrency prices can fluctuate widely and are therefore not appropriate for all investors. Trading cryptocurrencies is not supervised by any EU regulatory framework, such as MiFID. Therefore, when using eToro’s Cryptocurrencies Trading Service you will not get any investor protection.

Disclaimer: Past performance does not guarantee future results. Trading history presented is less than 5 years old and may not suffice as a basis for investment decision. Indicative prices; the current market price is shown on the eToro trading platform. Highly volatile unregulated investment product. No EU investor protection. Your capital is at risk.

You can trade with a wide variety of cryptocurrencies on eToro’s standard trading platform, far more than at other brokers:

  • Bitcoin
  • Bitcoin Cash
  • Ethereum
  • Ethereum Classic
  • Ripple
  • Litecoin
  • Cardano
  • IOTA
  • TRON
  • ZCASH
  • Binance coin
  • Dash
  • Stellar
  • EOS
  • NEO
  • Tezos
  • XRP

Technically, when you go long in any crypto, you will own the real coin. When you go short, it is a CFD.

eToro review
Research

eToro has good technical analysis tools. There are some analyst recommendations and market sentiment indicators available, but no comprehensive fundamental data.

Pros Cons
• Good interactive chart • No fundamental data available
• Trading ideas • No/poor quality news flow
• User-friendly
• Analyst recommendations

Research is available in 21 languages (the same languages that are available on the web and mobile trading platforms).

Recommendations

For some popular stocks, you can find recommendations, like analyst consensus (buy/hold/sell), average price target, hedge fund sentiment and insider trading sentiment. In some cases, you can also read the analyst reports. Unfortunately, these research features are available only for a very limited number of stocks.

Fundamental data

Some basic fundamental data on stocks is available on eToro’s platform. This includes the profile of the company and some very basic indicators and ratios such as P/E, EPS, dividend yield and beta. No fundamental data is available for asset classes other than stocks.

You can also sign up for a daily market analysis newsletter in which you get a useful list of the market highlights.

Charting

eToro’s charting tool is quite good and you can use many, ca. 70 technical indicators. We liked that charts are automatically saved, so you don’t have to waste your time setting up your indicators time and again. On the negative side, you can only see the data for the past ca. 6 months, no longer time horizon can be set.

News feed

The news feed is not really an official news feed, e.g. it is not like an integrated Bloomberg feed. Rather, it is like a market-themed Twitter feed, showing messages posted by eToro users and analysts. Hashtags (#) are used for themes and dollar signs ($) for assets. We were not a huge fan of this feature, but if your tastes differ you might like it.

More research info
75% of retail CFD accounts lose money

eToro review
Customer service

eToro customer service is good: you can reach it on several channels and get quick and relevant answers. On the flip side, you can’t reach them on weekends and it’s difficult to find the live chat service on the webpage.

Pros Cons
• Live chat • No phone support
• Fast response time • No 24/7 support
• Relevant answers • Difficult to find the live chat service

You can contact eToro’s customer service via live chat and a web-based ticketing system where you will get an answer by email. It was always quick and reliable when we tested it.

On the flip side, the customer service cannot be reached on the weekends, and it’s difficult to find the live chat function on the website as it is hidden under the FAQ under the ‘Help Center’ link.

eToro customer service, in theory, is available in all 21 languages the web and mobile trading platforms offer. We only tested customer service in English.

Contact customer service
75% of retail CFD accounts lose money

eToro review
Education

eToro’s education tools are limited, with only some medium-quality videos about investing available.

Pros Cons
• Demo account • Basic educational videos
• Intro guide to the platform

For practice, you can use a demo account. Other education tools are not really strong at eToro. There is one short tutorial video on how to use the platform, and some basic educational videos about investing and the financial markets.

The content discussed is intended for educational purposes only and should not be considered investment advice.

Visit education page
75% of retail CFD accounts lose money

eToro review
Safety

eToro is regulated by top-tier financial authorities like the FCA, ASIC and CySEC. However, it is not listed on any stock exchange, does not disclose financial information and does not have a bank parent.

Pros Cons
• Majority of clients belong to a top-tier financial authority • Does not hold a banking license
• Negative balance protection • Not listed on stock exchange
• Well-known fintech startup • Financial information is not publicly available

Is eToro regulated?

Yes, it is regulated by the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC), the UK’s Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) and the Australian Securities and Investment Commission (ASIC).

eToro is based in Israel and was founded in 2007.

Is eToro safe?

To be certain, we highly advise that you check two facts:

  • how you are protected if something goes wrong
  • what the background of the broker is

How you are protected

eToro operates three legal entities and serves customers based on their residency. This matters because the entity you belong to defines the amount of protection you get.

  • Citizens of the United Kingdom can open an account at eToro (UK) Limited and thus they will be protected by the FCA. If eToro becomes insolvent, eToro UK clients can expect to be compensated by the maximum amount of £85,000 guaranteed by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS).
  • Australian clients are served by eToro Australia, which is regulated by ASIC, the Australian financial authority. ASIC however does not provide any obligatory investor protection for a pre-set amount.
  • Other investors will have their live trading accounts with eToro (Europe) Limited, which is regulated by the Cypriot watchdog, CySEC. The amount of investment protection coverage at eToro Europe is a maximum of €20,000. This threshold is set by the Cypriot Investors Compensation Fund.

Here is a handy summary table for easy comparison:

eToro investor protection

Country of clients Protection amount Regulator Legal entity
United Kingdom £85,000 Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) eToro (UK) Ltd.
Australia No protection Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) eToro AUS Capital Pty Ltd.
Other clients €20,000 Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC) eToro (Europe) Ltd.

There is no investor protection for cryptos.

eToro also provides negative balance protection for forex spot and CFD trading, but only for retail clients from the European Union. Professional and non-EU clients are not covered with any negative balance protection

Background

eToro was established in 2007. The longer track record a broker has, the more proof we have that it has successfully survived previous financial crises. This means that it has already survived one crisis, which is a good sign. eToro is a privately-owned fintech startup, with owners including venture capital funds like Commerz Ventures Gmbh, the VC arm of Commerzbank, as well as Israeli US, and Chinese investors. eToro is lead by Yoni Assia, its well-known founder and CEO.

eToro is still considered a startup. It is not listed on any stock exchange and it also does not provide regular financial statements to the public. Hence, it is hard to know anything about its financial performance. It also does not have a bank parent, which could help provide capital to eToro in case of hard times. At the same time, being regulated by top-tier authorities is a great sign for eToro’s safety.

eToro review
Bottom line

eToro has zero-commission stock trading in Europe. Account opening is really fast and seamless. It has also a lot of innovative features, like social trading.

It has some drawbacks, though. Forex fees and non-trading fees are high, and eToro only allows USD accounts.

Overall, we would recommend eToro for its social trading feature and cheap stock trading.

Risk disclaimer

eToro is a multi-asset platform that offers both investing in stocks and cryptoassets, as well as trading CFD assets.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. 75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

Cryptoassets are volatile instruments which can fluctuate widely in a very short timeframe and therefore are not appropriate for all investors. Other than via CFDs, trading cryptoassets is unregulated and therefore is not supervised by any EU regulatory framework.

Past performance is not an indication of future results.

Visit broker
75% of retail CFD accounts lose money

eToro review
FAQ

How does eToro work?

eToro is primarily a CFD and forex broker, but you can also trade with real stocks, ETFs and many cryptocurrencies. It is well-known for its social trading feature, with which you can follow and copy the portfolio of a trader who also trades with eToro.

Who owns eToro?

At the time of this eToro review, it is a privately held company, therefore it is not required to publish its ownership structure. What we know is that eToro does not have any banking parent company (little chance for a bailout in case of bankruptcy), and it is currently operating under two legal names. The well-known founder and CEO of eToro is Yoni Assia.

eToro is funded by venture capitalists. Here are a few of them:

  • Anthemis Group, UK
  • BRM Capital, Israel
  • CommerzVentures GmbH, Germany
  • Cubit Investments, Israel
  • MoneyTime Ventures, USA
  • Ping An, China
  • Spark Capital, USA

Who regulates eToro?

eToro is regulated by financial authorities in Cyprus, the UK and Australia, corresponding to one of the three entities eToro operates under:

  • eToro (Europe) Ltd. – Cyprus – is regulated by CySEC (the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission) under license # 109/10, for servicing EEA (European Economic Area) member states, and countries outside of it.
  • eToro (UK) Ltd – UK – is regulated by the UK financial authority, the FCA (Financial Conduct Authority).
  • eToro (AUS) Capital Pty Ltd – is regulated by the Australian watchdog, ASIC (Australian Securities and Investments Commission).

How does eToro make money?

eToro makes money through various fees, and the trading services they provide on their website. Although eToro does not make its financial statements public, the main source of revenue for eToro is likely to be:

  • Spreads: Spreads are the gap between the price you and the broker buys/sells at. To put it simply, if an Apple stock costs $100 at market price, eToro will charge $100.1 for it. The difference of $0.1 per CFD is kept by eToro. For further info, read how CFDs work.
  • eTtoro overnight fee: For this, you need to understand two things, leveraged trades and loans. Leveraged means that you can trade with more money than you actually have. Let’s say you want to trade Apple with 1:10 leverage and you have $10. This means that using leverage you can buy $100 worth of Apple with your ten bucks, as the missing $90 will be lent to you by eToro, which will charge you a fee (interest) for this loan.
  • Other non-trading fees: eToro charges fees for several services on their website, which are not directly related to trading, also known as non-trading fees. Some examples of non-trading fees are:
    • Withdrawal fees ($5/transaction): pay to withdraw your money
    • Conversion fees: pay when eToro converts money to fund your account

Can eToro be trusted?

eToro is regulated by CySEC in Cyprus, ASIC in Australia, and the FCA in the UK. This is a good thing. eToro is not listed on any stock exchange, nor does it publish its financial data. Overall, Brokerchooser’s view is that eToro is not a scam, but it is not a fully transparent broker either.

How does eToro copy work?

eToro copy, a.k.a. CopyTrader, is a tool for social trading, which works by you copying the trading decisions of other people, or other people copying your trades. You can search for traders and other users, and see how their portfolio has performed historically. Once you found a trader of your liking, you can copy their every trading decision, which is handled automatically by the platform. You can decide how much money you want to invest in copying another trader, and you can close your investment whenever you wish. If you want, you can also make money by having other traders copy you.

Are eToro profits taxable?

If you make profits by trading on eToro, these can be subject to taxation laws and regulations. This always depends on the country of your origin. For further information about eToro and taxes, we recommend contacting your local tax authority.

Can I use eToro in the USA? Can I use eToro in Canada?

Currently, people from the USA cannot use eToro because US regulation (the SEC) does not allow brokers to provide CFD instruments (eToro is a CFD broker) for US residents. This means no regulated broker will accept retail clients from the USA to trade CFDs, so in this sense it is not only eToro that cannot serve US residents.

eToro cannot be used by the residents of the following countries:

  • United States of America (residents and citizens, including its incorporated and unincorporated territories)
  • Belgium
  • Canada (including Quebec & Ontario)
  • the Republic of Turkey
  • Japan
  • Brazil
  • the Islamic Republic of Iran
  • Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK)
  • Cuba
  • Sudan
  • Syria

When will eToro be available in the US?

The US SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) does not allow CFD instruments to be sold to US citizens. Until this law does not change, eToro will not be allowed to operate in the US under its current business model.

Cfds100 Reviews

21 • Poor

Write a review

Write a review

Reviews 21

It was a sad experience falling victim…

It was a sad experience falling victim to this fraudulent firm, recovering my lost funds from scam brokers i later realized was also a rip off , which is why i advice anyone who might be in need of hiring a cyber forensic analyst for lost funds can reach out to Raymond via hackersweb.tech at g m a i l d o t c o m

These people are scammers and will keep…

These people are scammers and will keep everything you deposit with them. I was able to recover my money with the help of Charles and his team. check my bio for his details

john .gleason (at) premium recoveryinc . com

Get your money back from this fraud of a company. I was able to get my investments back. check email up to contact funds recovery expert for help.

Thieves & Liars. Trust them at Your own Risk!

If I could give these Brokers a 0 (Zero) I would.

NEVER TRUST A WORD THEY SAY.

The only reason I got some of my money back is cause of my Bank.
I wrote a letter saying that these people were frauds along with a recorded conversation from my phone. And that was all the proof needed. The cfds100 only has horrifying reviews online as well so it only helped my case more.

These people still owe me money another $2000.
And now they have also suspended my account because they were forced to by my banks security procedures.
It also helped that my bank was one of the biggest in this region.

P. S. If you want to hear the conversation between me and the agent who calls him self Kevin (obviously fake name), click on the �� if you want me to upload it in SoundCloud.

I will recommend mr mason to any one in…

I will recommend mr mason to any one in need of help in getting back their lost funds from their scam broker, he helped me get back my lost money, you can contact him by clicking on my profile.

You can simply click on my profile to…

You can simply click on my profile to reach out to Mr Brain Hunter on his WhatsApp on how you can recover your lost funds from any platform also to invest and earn $4,850 weekly..

I was able to get back 70% of my loss

After losing all my life savings to one CFDs100 company, I ran into a lot of problems including the loss of my house and, I also sold my cars. I almost became homeless. Luckily for me, I was directed to a security company that’s helped me recover a percentage of the money that I have lost with no upfront fees but 30 percent after recovering. I just have nothing else to say but, to be thankful and to let people know what has happened to my life. I will be very happy to talk to you about it if you are a victim like me too. Reach me on WhatsApp +1646 349-0491.

Absolute scumbags

Absolute scumbags. They took me for all my savings. The bank was powerless because they moved the money out of the account. I ended up trusting a person that was an IT specialist for firconsultants.co m. I got about 50% back of what was stolen. Very annoyed but it was better than nothing.

You can do a chargeback against these…

You can do a chargeback against these thieves using the reason consumer misrepresentation because they misrepresent themselves as being a Forex Broker when they are not because they do not have a license to be a Forex broker. Don’t waste your money paying for advice on how to do it.

Truffatori totali

Truffatori totali. Da star lontano come dalla peste.

CFDS100 is a den of scammers set up to…

CFDS100 is a den of scammers set up to suck out your money. They also definitely work hand in hand with Tradinglive io. Today, I drove over 300 km for a meeting with the so called manager called Hans Kaiser, at an address in Munich to discuss “further investment”. At the address given Tulbeckstradde 15, there are just appartments but no CFDS100 office. Hans Kaiser claimed he had come out on to the street to look for me but this is a lie as I was the only person in the street at the time, A promise then to join me in a corner caffee was not fulfilled as he never turned up and I guess his name is also a lie.
At the moment I have lost €90,000 and they have made proposals as to how I can recover this sum, but each proposal involves putting in some more money. I have been unable to withdraw my funds and anytime I ask for withdrawals they keep on asking for more funds and aside from that they kept on putting credits on my account to get me fooled since they telling me to pay 10% of funds before I can withdraw.

That is to say:- throwing good money after bad.
The stories are good and plausible but do not be tricked.
If you transfer money to CFDS100 it is best to say goodbye to it first!
It is 100% a scam, get your money back with a chargeback with good company like (SWIFT Recoup (dot). C O M.

Best Binary Options Brokers 2020:
  • BINARIUM
    BINARIUM

    Best Options Broker 2020!
    Great Choice For Beginners!
    Free Trading Education!
    Free Demo Account 1000$!
    Get Your Sign-Up Bonus Now!

  • BINOMO
    BINOMO

    Only For Experienced Traders!

Like this post? Please share to your friends:
Binary Options Trading Library
Leave a Reply

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: